top of page
  • Writer's pictureYou Matter

New Year's Resolutions

Volume 4: January 1, 2023
Written/Edited by: Fidha

Why does the New Year's Cause Anxiety Amongst People?


The New Year's season is always highlighted as the time for change in one's life, whether that be a habitual, spiritual, or academic change. People look to the New Year as a fresh start, but this can also be daunting and exhausting in the sense that there may be a lot for to accomplish because, perhaps, you weren't able to this year.


The new year, although it is a fresh start, is not a competition of who has the biggest, brightest, and most thrilling resolutions and accomplishments. Although it is the competitive nature of humans, especially teenagers, to want to achieve more than we are able to, this leads to a very quick burnout. This is especially troublesome for students who are striving to well in their classes, but are being held back due to their burn out and an immense desire for more.


This new year, take the time to connect with yourself and not only your wants, but also your necessities. We have a guideline that outlines how to make new year's resolutions, and advise our readers to make small changes within their lives rather than expecting a big impact.


You can do this; we believe in all of you!

A Guide to Generating New Year's Resolutions

  • Be reasonable with yourself, and understand your limits. There might be a tendency to want to simply change everything about your life all at once...change is slow, and often difficult. Take your time!

  • Monitor all of your progress; the good and even the failures along the way. This helps you learn from experience, and also gives you an outlet for expression if you use journals.

  • Try to view your resolutions as affirmations and goals, not a to-do list. You will try your best, of course, to accomplish your goals, however, if it doesn't happen, that is OKAY! Again, change is not consistent or exponential; there are plenty of pitfalls and sudden peaks ahead.

  • Allow yourself to be flexible. Like we've talked about already, change is inevitably not as easy as it seems on paper. Allow yourself to make mistakes, fall behind, and afterwards, conquer your resolutions.

  • Look for change not accomplishments or results. Don't expect yourself to simply receive results or rewards, but look for change. Maybe you didn't get all As, but your studying habits have changed tremendously.


New Year's Resolutions from our Team and Friends!

We wanted to include some of our New Year's Resolutions in lieu of the fresh start we are being given, and asked our friends to join us!


"I think one of my New Year's Resolutions would be to learn better time management and spend my time in a more productive manner." - age 21


"I want to smile more this year. I think I'm on the 'grumpier' side of people, so I want to smile more." - age 45


"I have the same resolutions as always about staying healthy, being productive, etc etc. But I think a new one is probably to get better at coding. I want to do well on my AP exam in May, but things are not looking the best, I'm going to be honest..." - age 15


"I want to get into at least one college...doesn't have to be my dream college, but I want to go to college somewhere and be able to afford it!" - age 17


"I think I'll spend more time with my family this year. I'm not sure if that counts as a resolution, but it should. At least for me." - age 16

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page